MOTÖRHEAD — Rock 'n' Roll — the ultimate metal music online community, from the creators of

MOTÖRHEAD - Rock 'n' Roll cover
3.75 | 22 ratings | 1 review
Buy this album from MMA partners

Album · 1987

Filed under Heavy Metal


1. Rock 'n' Roll (3:49)
2. Eat the Rich (4:34)
3. Blackheart (4:03)
4. Stone Deaf in the U.S.A. (3:40)
5. Blessing (1:02)
6. The Wolf (3:28)
7. Traitor (3:17)
8. Dogs (3:48)
9. All for You (4:10)
10. Boogeyman (3:07)
11. Cradle to the Grave (4:05)
12. Just 'cos You Got the Power (7:30)

Total Time: 46:38


- Philthy Animal / Drums
- Würzel / Guitars
- Phil Campbell / Guitars
- Lemmy Kilmister / Vocals, Bass

- Michael Palin / narration on 'The Wolf'

About this release

GWR Records, September 5th, 1987

Recorded at Master Rock and Redwood, London.
Mixed at Britannia Row, Eden Studios and The Roundhouse, London.
Cut at CBS Studios, London.

There is a hidden track (01:02) before "The Wolf" where Monty Python legend Michael Palin provides some narration:

"Oh Lord, who art on high, who hast made the blades of grass, and the little tiny things that creep therein, that hath made the cricket bats, who has made hankies, who has made... all things, bless thou these people from Motorhead, that they may so verily endow the people of this planet with pleasure and enjoyment that yea, they may verily increase fourfold their already large sums of loot and enable them here in this life to purchase maybe one other pair of trousers each. Oh Lord, thou who hast seen the trouserless and had compassion, look down upon them. Thank you"

This hidden track does not appear on the vinyl version, some CD versions have it at the end of track 4, others at the beginning of track 5.

Producer: Guy Bidmead and Motorhead

Released in Japan by Victor Entertainment (cat. # VDP-1288)

Reissued in 1997 by CMC with two bonus tracks:
10. Cradle to the Grave (b-side of "Eat the Rich")
11. Just 'Cos You Got the Power (b-side of "Eat the Rich")

Reissued in 2006 with a live bonus disc recorded by the BBC's Friday Rock Show at the Monsters of Rock festival on August 16, 1986:
1. Iron Fist
2. Stay Clean
3. Nothing Up My Sleeve
4. Metropolis
5. Dr. Rock
6. Killed by Death
7. Ace of Spades
8. Steal Your Face
9. Bite the Bullet
10. Built for Speed
11. Orgasmatron
12. No Class
13. Motörhead

Thanks to UMUR, Unitron for the updates


More places to buy metal & MOTÖRHEAD music


Specialists/collaborators reviews

"Rock 'n' Roll" is the 8th full-length studio album by UK hard/heavy rock act Motörhead. The album was released through GWR Records September 1987. It´s the follow up to "Orgasmatron", which was released in August 1986. Motörhead experienced a commercial comeback with "Orgasmatron" and used the momentum to release "Rock 'n' Roll" only about a year after the release of it´s predecessor. "Rock 'n' Roll" wasn´t as successful in Europe as "Orgasmatron", but it helped gain Motörhead popularity in the USA. There´s been one lineup change since "Orgasmatron (1986)", as Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor is back behind the drumkit replacing Pete Gill.

To my ears the short time between "Orgasmatron (1986)" and "Rock 'n' Roll" is audible and I´d go as far as to call them sibling albums. Both in terms of production values and songwriting style. Stylistically this is Motörhead as we know them. Blues based rock´n´roll with the volume turned up high, and Lemmy Kilmister´s distorted bass and sandpaper voice in front.

"Rock 'n' Roll" features some great tracks, and some more standard quality ones too. That´s pretty much business as usual for Motörhead though, who have seldom produced albums with only "hits". Highlights on "Rock 'n' Roll" include the title track, the catchy "Eat the Rich", "The Wolf", "Dogs", and especially "Stone Deaf in the U.S.A.", which is an absolutely killer track. The short guest appearance by Michael Palin in which he performs a weird Monty Python type monologue is pretty damn amusing too, and a little extra spice to the album.

Upon conclusion "Rock 'n' Roll" is another well played, relatively well produced and well written Motörhead album, but to my ears it´s not among their best. It´s still a good quality release though and a 3.5 star (70%) rating is deserved.

Members reviews

No MOTÖRHEAD ROCK 'N' ROLL reviews posted by members yet.

Ratings only

  • SilentScream213
  • ian
  • Olly
  • Purple Haze
  • cefr45
  • kalacho
  • Alex
  • sauromat
  • yair010390
  • Bosh66
  • Tychovski
  • Jan
  • enosis1924
  • Colt
  • ultmetal
  • miguellangell
  • stefanbedna
  • Tlön
  • hypnotiq916
  • snowman1980
  • slow man

Write/edit review

You must be logged in to write or edit review


Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Rust in Peace Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
Buy this album from our partners
Dirt Alternative Metal
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Mohngang Pagan Black Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
Buy this album from MMA partners
Omniscience Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Chroma Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
F8 Groove Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions


Latest Metal News


More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us

Buy Metal Music Online