DEATH — Individual Thought Patterns (review)

DEATH — Individual Thought Patterns album cover Album · 1993 · Technical Death Metal Buy this album from MMA partners
4.5/5 ·
Warthur
Although all of Death's albums from their technical death metal phase (from Human to Sound of Perseverance) are highly consistent, I have to say that Individual Thought Patterns has emerged as my favourite. This may on balance prove to be an entirely arbitrary choice since there's plenty of creativity on show on all 4 albums from this period of the band's existence, but I find this one grabs me a little more immediately than the others - it's not that it's simpler or more straightforward than the others because it really isn't, but the compositions here feel just a wee bit more polished than on the others. It's a hair's breadth between them, but I truly think this is Death's crowning accomplishment.
Share this review

Review Comments

Post a public comment below | Send private message to the reviewer
Please login to post a shout
J-Man wrote:
more than 2 years ago
My favorite is "Symbolic" too, probably for nostalgic reasons alone. That was one of the first death metal albums I really got into alongside Opeth's "Still Life. :-)
more than 2 years ago
I love the four last Death albums, and I think that they're equally good, but my favorite is "Symbolic"... totally arbitrary preference, too. Oh, and the Control Denied album is brilliant, too.
UMUR wrote:
more than 2 years ago
LOL :-)
Warthur wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Yes, those are all the best parts of the album, aside from all the other parts.
J-Man wrote:
more than 2 years ago
...and the vocals! Damn, I need to listen to this album again soon. It's been too long haha
UMUR wrote:
more than 2 years ago
...and the drums!!!
more than 2 years ago
... and the bass!
UMUR wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Oh sweetness...Andy LaRoque...as if the music wasn´t great enough as it is, they top it with his brilliant leads.

MMA TOP 5 Metal ALBUMS

Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
METALLICA
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
RUSH
Buy this album from our partners
Rust in Peace Thrash Metal
MEGADETH
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
IRON MAIDEN
Buy this album from our partners
Are You Experienced? Proto-Metal
JIMI HENDRIX
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Nullity Sludge Metal
LESSER GLOW
Buy this album from MMA partners
Anthrobscene Groove Metal
DEIFIED
Buy this album from MMA partners
Valley Of Kings Melodic Metalcore
THE WISE MAN'S FEAR
Buy this album from MMA partners
Isolate Metalcore
DEATHBREAKER
Buy this album from MMA partners
Captain Three Leg / Living Room Hardcore Punk
LIVING ROOM
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

Beastie Boys - Ode To...
BEASTIE BOYS
Unitron· 20 hours ago
More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions

More...

Latest Metal News

members-submitted

More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us

Buy Metal Music Online