LED ZEPPELIN — Houses Of The Holy (review)

LED ZEPPELIN — Houses Of The Holy album cover Album · 1973 · Hard Rock Buy this album from MMA partners
3/5 ·
Dellinger
After the great fourth album, this one is indeed a disappointment. I find most of the songs rather annoying and in a totally different style... but not in a good way. They went with some sort of caribbean, almost danceable sound or something, instead of their hard rock / blues sound that we had gotten used to. I would be tempted to give it 2 stars if it were not for the two great songs that it does have, the soft and beautiful "The Rain Song" and the proggy "No Quarter", which is among my very favourite songs from the band.
Share this review

Review Comments

Post a public comment below | Send private message to the reviewer
Please login to post a shout
Unitron wrote:
5 months ago
So is Presence, that and Graffiti are their best imo. Never been much of a fan of this album, but I think that's because this was where they were first really coming into their own sound songwriting wise.
5 months ago
Physical Graffiti is so good though...
Tupan wrote:
5 months ago
I love this album, probably my fav alongside LZ IV. But after this went downhill, really.
siLLy puPPy wrote:
5 months ago
I like this one but i have to admit it took longer to like this one than the others. It has a weird disconnect that you have to adjust your antennas to pick up the right signal. For me the next album is where they went south.
UMUR wrote:
5 months ago
For me the real fun stopped here too. Some good tracks here and the same on the next couple of albums, but for me Led Zeppelin is the first four albums...

MMA TOP 5 Metal ALBUMS

Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
METALLICA
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
IRON MAIDEN
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
RUSH
Buy this album from our partners
Paranoid Heavy Metal
BLACK SABBATH
Buy this album from our partners
Rust in Peace Thrash Metal
MEGADETH
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Discarded Self Sludge Metal
DISCARDED SELF
Buy this album from MMA partners
Cast Down Sludge Metal
BORN OF PLAGUES
Buy this album from MMA partners
Live In Camden 2009 Crust Punk
AMEBIX
Buy this album from MMA partners
The Power Remains The Same Crust Punk
AMEBIX
Buy this album from MMA partners
Slay in Hell Thrash Metal
STEEL BEARING HAND
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

Raunchy - Watch Out
RAUNCHY
Tupan· 2 days ago
RAUNCHY - Phantoms
RAUNCHY
Tupan· 2 days ago
RAUNCHY - Warriors
RAUNCHY
Tupan· 2 days ago
More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions

More...

Latest Metal News

members-submitted

More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us