ALICE COOPER — Hey Stoopid — the ultimate metal music online community, from the creators of

ALICE COOPER - Hey Stoopid cover
3.67 | 27 ratings | 1 review
Buy this album from MMA partners

Album · 1991

Filed under Glam Metal


1. Hey Stoopid (4:34)
2. Love's A Loaded Gun (4:11)
3. Snakebite (4:33)
4. Burning Our Bed (4:34)
5. Dangerous Tonight (4:41)
6. Might As Well Be On Mars (7:09)
7. Feed My Frankenstein (4:44)
8. Hurricane Years (3:58)
9. Little By Little (4:35)
10. Die For You (4:16)
11. Dirty Dreams (3:29)
12. Wind-Up Toy (5:27)

Total Time 56:17


- Alice Cooper / vocals, harmonica
- Stef Burns / guitar
- Hugh McDonald / bass
- Derek Sherinian / keyboards
- Mickey Curry / drums

- Joe Satriani / guitars (tracks 1, 4, 7, 9, 12)
- Vinnie Moore / guitars (tracks 8, 11)
- Steve Vai / guitar (track 7)
- Slash / guitars (track 1)
- Nikki Sixx / bass (track 7)
- Mick Mars / guitars (track 10)
- Ozzy Osbourne / backing vocals (track 1)

About this release

July 2, 1991

Japanese Edition has the following bonus track:

13. It Rained All Night (3:54)

Reissued in 2013 with the following bonus tracks:

13. Hey Stoopid (shorter version) (Beba Edit) (3:58)
14. Fire (3:04
15. It Rained All Night (3:54)

Thanks to Time Signature, Pekka, Lynx33 for the updates


More places to buy metal & ALICE COOPER music

  • CDUniverse - Specializing in the sale of domestic and imported music CDs and Imports


Specialists/collaborators reviews

Time Signature
Rock is a loaded gun...

"Hey Stoopid" is the follow up to the massively popular "Trash", and thus this release is under some pressure. Alice Cooper meets this challenge by pulling out the heavy artillery, allying himself with the likes of guitar heroes Vinnie Moore, Slash, Joe Satriani, and Steve Vai as well as rock super stars Mick Mars, Nikki Sixx and Ozzy Osbourne all of whom serve as guest stars (the album also features Derek Sherinian on keyboards).

And while this certainly makes this album interesting, quality does not lie in the host of guest stars (although, I should mention that there is amazing guitar licks galore on this album), but in the music itself, and I must admit that I think that this album is a bit lackluster at times.

There are a lot of solid but not outstanding hard rock tracks on this album, such as the title track, "Dangerous Tonight", "Dangerous Tonight", "Feed My Frankenstein", "Hurricane Years", "Dirty Dreams" and "Wind-Up Toy". All of these tracks have their strengths such as catchy choruses and amazing guitar licks by both the guest stars and Cooper's own guitarist Stef Burns, but most of these tracks also contain some very bland and standard elements, and - with the exception of "Hurricane Years" and "Feed My Frankenstein", I am ambivalent towards them. A good example of this is "Snake Bite", which contains some really, really, really nice guitar riffage (the kind of riffage I've hoped to get the chance to play and write myself for years), but at the same time a lot of the vocal lines are incredibly uninspiring (the chorus is extremely catchy though).

Another downside is the many insignificant ballads on this album. Now, I do not hate ballads (I love it when a good ballad comes together), but I just think that good ballads that mean something are hard to come by. This album contains several power ballads, most of which are pretty standard, and to me it seems that Alice Cooper is accommodating to the conventions of hard the hard rock and mainstream metal of the late 1980s and early 1990s which required that there were several power ballads on a hard rock release. Ballad tracks like "Burning Our Bed", "Love's a Loaded Gun", "Die For You" are pretty boring, while "Might As Well Be On Mars" and "Little By Little" work quite well and manage to generate a dark and brooding atmosphere (the latter ekes out a bit, though, I think - great chorus though).

This album is in itself worth 2,5 stars, but in recognition of the performances by the musicians and guest musicians on this release, I'll give it three stars, because there are some really great guitar performances here, and fans of guitar solos and rock riffage might want to buy this album just for that reason. This album does have its moments, and many of them, and tracks like "Feed My Frankenstein" and "Might As Well Be on Mars" are quite good. I am sure that fans of melodic hard rock and 80s/90s glam metal will like this album.

Members reviews

No ALICE COOPER HEY STOOPID reviews posted by members yet.

Ratings only

  • donato40
  • Jack Revelino
  • Sisslith
  • Seven Moons
  • kalacho
  • RetroMetalMan
  • Lock24
  • Colt
  • TerryDactyl
  • Beyonder
  • aglasshouse
  • ElGordoPopochas
  • sepozzsla
  • Stephen
  • shadowoffadream
  • Gabimm
  • jsorigar
  • fisciletti
  • Lampyridae94
  • jose carlos
  • Khabarov
  • diamondblack
  • life93
  • Zargus
  • stefanbedna
  • spitf1r3

Write/edit review

You must be logged in to write or edit review


Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
Buy this album from our partners
Rust in Peace Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
Buy this album from our partners
Paranoid Heavy Metal
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Nightmares Sludge Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
Another Green Drought Atmospheric Sludge Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
Caught In A Mirror Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
The Tower Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Crypt of Ice Death Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions


Latest Metal News


More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us