DEATH — Symbolic (review)

DEATH — Symbolic album cover Album · 1995 · Technical Death Metal Buy this album from MMA partners
1/5 ·
bassgeezer
Unfortunately I don’t like death metal. Initially I felt that this disqualified me from writing a review for this album. But the fact that Symbolic has risen to the top of the rankings has driven me to do so. I have honestly tried to listen to every track. I enjoy every one of them until the vocals start, which then spoil it for me. I really do not see the attraction of this type of vocal. I appreciate the instrumental composition and the skill level of the musicians but 80% of the album is unlistenable for me. This is why I can only give this one star.
Share this review

Review Comments

Post a public comment below | Send private message to the reviewer
Please login to post a shout
ninjames wrote:
more than 2 years ago
That is what i thought going into the album, but it is growing on me.
Doomster wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Yayz.
Diogenes wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Never heard it, but if you insist I will take a listen.
Doomster wrote:
more than 2 years ago
@Diogenes The Dwelling? Anyone besides me and Wilytank...?
life93 wrote:
more than 2 years ago
@J-Man, i know you were joking , when i saw the one star i was thinking the same thing, like how could anyone hate this?
more than 2 years ago
by the way, Visions is the best album of this year.
more than 2 years ago
I use to review like this, I'm in the process in deleting those unreadable reviews! Probably this guy is just new at reviewing, and he doesn't know exactly all the reasons why you don't like an album, or you don't give the rating fairly. That's fine, you'll get better.

Wilytank wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Might be time for me to intervene then. If it sounds anything similar to 'Aquarius', it doesn't deserve its position.
Diogenes wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Visions is now the best metal album ever. You all need to DEAL WITH IT
Wilytank wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Except Chuck can't write enough lyrics for one song.
J-Man wrote:
more than 2 years ago
And of course, I was joking about the blasphemous comment. All opinions are welcome! :-) Just Symbolic... is.... so... awesome....
J-Man wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I find it absolutely absurd to rate an album with one star simply because you don't like the vocals. I don't know how anybody could sensibly argue that this is a ONE star album... :/
Xaxaar wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I think the rating should be higher if there's only one thing you dislike about it. Just rating it one star to bring it down a peg is...questionable.
life93 wrote:
more than 2 years ago
this is a review based upon the genre of death metal itself, not the album, and only because it's at the top of the album charts. This seems more like a topic on the forum than a review, if i had never heard this album i would have learned nothing from this review, except that you don't like the vocals in death metal. I don't find it blasphemous or anything like that, because "different strokes for different folks" it just seems extremely biased.
J-Man wrote:
more than 2 years ago
This is one of the most blasphemous reviews I've ever read.

Review Index

Member Zone

Username:
Password:
Stay signed in

Metal Subgenres

Artists Alpha-index

MMA TOP 5 Metal ALBUMS

Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
METALLICA
Buy this album from our partners
Rust in Peace Thrash Metal
MEGADETH
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
RUSH
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
IRON MAIDEN
Buy this album from our partners
Dirt Alternative Metal
ALICE IN CHAINS
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Hold Back the Dawn Death Metal
GRAVEYARD
Buy this album from MMA partners
The Waking Void Sludge Metal
UNFURL
Buy this album from MMA partners
Rhetoric Of The Image Sludge Metal
TORPOR
Buy this album from MMA partners
The Day I Became Us Deathcore
PRINCIPLES OF MERGER
Buy this album from MMA partners
The Apophis Solution Deathcore
BECOMING AKH
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions

More...

Latest Metal News

members-submitted

More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us

Buy Metal Music Online