AC/DC — Let There Be Rock — the ultimate metal music online community, from the creators of

AC/DC - Let There Be Rock cover
4.10 | 62 ratings | 3 reviews
Buy this album from MMA partners

Album · 1977

Filed under Hard Rock


Original Australian version (and original international vinyl release):
1. Go Down (5:20)
2. Dog Eat Dog (3:35)
3. Let There Be Rock (6:03)
4. Bad Boy Boogie (4:29)
5. Overdose (6:12)
6. Crabsody in Blue (4:42)
7. Hell Ain't a Bad Place to Be (4:13)
8. Whole Lotta Rosie (5:22)

Total Time: 40:00

1. Go Down (5:31)
2. Dog Eat Dog (3:34)
3. Let There Be Rock (6:06)
4. Bad Boy Boogie (4:27)
5. Problem Child (5:24)
6. Overdose (6:09)
7. Hell Ain't a Bad Place to Be (4:14)
8. Whole Lotta Rosie (5:24)

Total Time 40:42


- Bon Scott / lead vocals
- Angus Young / lead and rhythm guitars
- Malcolm Young / rhythm guitar, backing vocals
- Mark Evans / bass, backing vocals
- Phil Rudd / drums, percussion

About this release

Record label:

21 March 1977 (AUS)
25 July 1977 (INT)

International version has different cover art and track listing. The cover shown here is that of the original Australian version.

A remastered version of the international edition was released in 2003 by Epic Records.

Thanks to Time Signature, Pekka, colt, Lynx33, Unitron for the updates


More places to buy metal & AC/DC music

  • CDUniverse - Specializing in the sale of domestic and imported music CDs and Imports


Specialists/collaborators reviews

"Let There Be Rock" is the 4th full-length studio album by Australian hard/heavy rock act AC/DC. The album was originally released in Australia through Albert Productions in March 1977, but saw a modified (different cover artwork and modified tracklist) worldwide release through Atlantic Records in June 1977. The original Australian version featured the track "Crapsody in Blue", but it´s replaced by "Problem Child" on the International version. The latter had been featured on both the original Australian version and the International version of "Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap (1976)".

"Let There Be Rock" is definitely one of the highlights of AC/DC´s seventies discography (and there are quite a few high quality releases to pick from). The music on the album is delivered with such conviction, passion and love for hard rocking and über amplified bluesy rock´n´roll that I have to surrender completely. This is genuine and honest to the bone. Sweaty and hard edged bluesy hard rock riffing, a driving rythm section and Bon Scott´s rusty squall to top it all off. This is classic AC/DC when they are best. "Let There Be Rock" features quite a few excellent rockers in "Go Down", "Let There Be Rock", "Bad Boy Boogie" and "Whole Lotta Rosie" but all tracks on the International version of the album are great (I haven´t heard "Crapsody in Blue" so I can´t comment on the quality of that track).

Packed in a powerful, warm and organic sound production, the music on "Let There Be Rock" is presented in the best possible fashion and it´s actually very hard to find anything negative to say about the release. A 4.5 star (90%) rating is fully deserved.
Time Signature
Bad boy boogie...

Genre: Hard rock / boogie rock / heavy metal

On "Let There Be Rock", AC/DC draw less on boogie rock (although there's still boogie aplenty), focusing instead on bluesy hard rock and metallic high energy.

"Go Down" is an all out boogie rocker, while the boogie elements are present in the hard rockers "Bad Boy Boogie" and "Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be", both of which are evolve around super catchy riffs which the Young brothers excel at creating and performing. "Let There Be Rock" and "Whole Lot of Rosie", which have since then become AC/DC anthems, display a speed and energy and aggressive riffing that would later become epotomics of metal riffing, while "Dog Eat Dog" and "Overdose" are instances of AC/DC style hard rock songs with catchy main riffs.

This album has been described as AC/DCs the start of AC/DC's transition from boogie rock to metal. That may or may not be the case, but it's a fine hard rock album, which I think most hard rock and traditional metal fans will appreciate.

Members reviews

Hagbard Celine
Sometime around 1989-1990, the mainstream metal world faced an epidemic of hair bands deciding they could play the blues. In most cases this went horribly wrong, and before entering the recording studio the culprits should have spent more time listening to their late '70s AC/DC records and less time strutting about the spandex stores of West Hollywood.

In contrast, "Let There Be Rock" is an example of blues-based hard rock that has stood the test of time, with songs like the title track showing a deep appreciation for the cultural cross-pollination at the core of much of modern music. AC/DC took basic blues structures, cranked the volume up, and (especially beginning with this album) sped the tempo up to a speed where songs like "Dog Eat Dog" and "Overdose" infectiously swagger into your brain, never losing their groove even for a moment. The album wraps up with one of the greatest odes to fat girls ever written, "Whole Lotta Rosie," matched only by Queen's "Fat Bottomed Girls" in its love for the large and in charge.

Ratings only

  • MrMan2000
  • GWLHM76
  • sploosh
  • Necrotica
  • Jack Revelino
  • ian
  • The Leveller
  • 666sharon666
  • Fant0mas
  • Anster
  • PS-RagE
  • kalacho
  • Fido73
  • Bojanthebest
  • sauromat
  • Seven Moons
  • michelandrade
  • powermetal2000
  • Losimba
  • sepozzsla
  • Pekka
  • shadowoffadream
  • aglasshouse
  • Unitron
  • kllytrrnc
  • SevDawg
  • Bosh66
  • Nightfly
  • Lynx33
  • yair010390
  • Paolini
  • FusionKing
  • Lampyridae94
  • IMPF2112
  • Khabarov
  • IMPF
  • Woutjinho
  • spitf1r3
  • Le username
  • cannon
  • miguellangell
  • bassgeezer
  • bonzomx
  • jorgelog94
  • stefanbedna
  • Zargus
  • IndianaJones
  • Tlön
  • mr.gonzoss
  • Colt
  • Fantacide
  • snowman1980
  • MetasransB
  • caligula
  • slow man
  • Bartje1979
  • NorseGangsta
  • Mirsset

Write/edit review

You must be logged in to write or edit review


Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
Buy this album from our partners
Paranoid Heavy Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
Buy this album from our partners
Led Zeppelin IV Hard Rock
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Hell Is Real Sludge Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
At One With None Heavy Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
Too Late Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Misery Deathcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Second Voyage Hardcore Punk
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions


Latest Metal News


More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us