ANGRA — Rebirth — the ultimate metal music online community, from the creators of

ANGRA - Rebirth cover
3.68 | 33 ratings | 2 reviews
Buy this album from MMA partners

Album · 2001

Filed under Power Metal


1. In Excelsis (1:03)
2. Nova Era (4:52)
3. Millennium Sun (5:11)
4. Acid Rain (6:07)
5. Heroes of Sand (4:39)
6. Unholy Wars: Part I: Imperial Crown / Part II: Forgiven Return (8:13)
7. Rebirth (5:17)
8. Judgement Day (5:40)
9. Running Alone (7:14)
10. Visions Prelude (4:32)

Total Time: 52:51


- Edu Falaschi / vocals
- Kiko Loureiro / guitars
- Rafael Bittencourt / guitars
- Aquiles Priester / drums
- Felipe Andreolli / bass

- Rita Maria / Choirs
- Carolin Wols / Choirs
- Mestre Dinho / Voices (Track 6)
- Grupo Woyekê / Voices (Track 6)
- Roman Mekinulov / Cello
- Douglas "ShakerHand" Las Casas / Percussion
- Zeca Loureiro / Choirs
- Andre Kbelo / Choirs
- Dennis Ward / Choirs
- Günter Werno / Keyboards

About this release

Release date: November 13, 2001
Label: Paradoxx/SPV

Thanks to progshine, DippoMagoo, diamondblack for the updates


More places to buy metal & ANGRA music

  • CDUniverse - Specializing in the sale of domestic and imported music CDs and Imports


Specialists/collaborators reviews

I have to admit I have never been a big fan of Angra. Mainly, I think, because of the vocals. Andre Matos was never my cup of tea. I will say, however, that Fireworks had some more-than-promising moments on it. Because of this I was not very enthusiastic about hearing Rebirth. Even in the face of friends of mine who were praising the album highly, I remained skeptical. I am the first to admit when I'm wrong, so, I'm wrong.

This album is a whole new Angra! Partly due, at least, to the addition of new vocalist Edu Falashi. This guy has an outstanding voice; Clean, powerful and full of emotion. The songs as well seem to have a renewed vigor and fire about them. This now is a band that could potentially give Symphony X a run for their money in the symphonic metal field. There is so much energy and power on Rebirth that it could truly be considered a debut album. What I mean is that the band sounds hungry again. "Acid Rain" is a big, strong track with a good mid-tempo drive and excellent melody. The drumming of Aquiles Priester is fluid and flawless! His tasteful licks add a fantastic texture to this and the rest of the songs on the album. The syncopation on the pre-chorus is a perfect pre-cursor to the double kick-drums on the chorus. Edu absolutely shines on the chorus, too. No lead credit is given, so I am unsure whether it is Kiko Loureiro or Rafael Bittencourt providing the stunning lead work, but regardless it is a super high point of this already stellar track. The 8-minute "Unholy Wars" begins with some tribal chanting and percussion as the matching guitar rhythm slowly rises in the mix. This is one of the tracks on the album where you are positive this is not just another power metal album. After the rhythmic feel is carried for a few bars, the band comes crashing through the door with a high-speed metal riff. This epic is the centerpiece of the record as its grabbing melodies coupled with the band's spot-on playing will have your jaw on the floor. "Judgement Day" begins with a driving drum patter before the aggressive riff takes over. There is a piano overlay on the intro that is simply perfect. A typical synth overlay would have been too predictable. A great example of the band establishing their own sound.

It's hard to stop here, but this review is getting a bit lengthy. From the beautiful strains of the title track, to the symphonic grandeur of "Nova Era," Rebirth is a record no power metal fan will want to be without. Angra's Rebirth combines tradition with ambition and walks away completely successful.
I am a bit of a fan of these crazy Brazillians, do I decide to buy a 2 pack of their albums (this one and Temple Of Shadows) So, this being my first full Angra album, I thought it was pretty good. To be homest I was expecting a wee bit more from these guys.

I did prefer André Matos as a singer, but that doesn't leave Ed being any less of a singer, and also, doesn't Ed look like Jay from Jay & Silent Bob, and doesn't Rafael Bittencourt look like Steve Perry from Journey.

This album does have some absolute amazing moments though.

1. In Excelesis - Nice epic intro. 8/10

2. Nova Era - Amazing chorus and some amazing instrumental work. The arranment is killer. 10/10

3. Millenium Sun - Odd arrangment, but some killer vocals. 9/10

4. Acid Rain - Pretty kick ass at times. The instrumental sections really make the song what it is. 8/10

5. Heroes Of Sand - Pretty epic song. Very interesting chorus. 9/10

6. Unholy Wars - Wow, I wasn't expecting this. This song has some odd twists and turns, but that just makes it more exciting of a song. The chorus is just magical 10/10

7. Rebirth - Usual Angra song. It's okay, I guess. 7/10

8. Judgement Day - Some killer riffs and cool rhthyms. 8/10

9. Running Alone - Some lovely piano work during the instrumental section. Pretty cool chorus. 9/10

10. Visions (Prelude) - Nice arrangement and a great ending. 9/10

CONCLUSION: Meh...I know these guys can do better. I don't know, maybe this album will grow on me

Members reviews

No ANGRA REBIRTH reviews posted by members yet.

Ratings only

  • Caio2112
  • PS-RagE
  • cefr45
  • Jone Souza
  • starlessabstract
  • sepozzsla
  • powermetal2000
  • Gabimm
  • progshine
  • Earendil
  • Nazar_Sergijovych
  • jsorigar
  • Sinkadotentree
  • 666sharon666
  • Anster
  • yair010390
  • Rendref
  • vikt73
  • mickemupp
  • ollischr
  • taco85
  • Tlön
  • kalacho
  • Fantacide
  • Fernandi
  • snowman1980
  • flowerpower
  • marcore13
  • Hagbard Celine
  • Tupan

Write/edit review

You must be logged in to write or edit review


Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Rust in Peace Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
Buy this album from our partners
Dirt Alternative Metal
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Pike 284 - Through The Looking Garden Alternative Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
Ethereal (Instrumental) Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Blood Reign Death Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
The Absolute Universe - Forevermore Metal Related
Buy this album from MMA partners
The Absolute Universe - The Breath of Life Metal Related
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions


Latest Metal News


More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us