PLEASEEATTHEFUCKINGSANDWICHBITCH — PETFSB (review)

PLEASEEATTHEFUCKINGSANDWICHBITCH — PETFSB album cover Album · 2016 · Cybergrind Buy this album from MMA partners
4/5 ·
Unitron
Time to Grind 'n' Roll_

I think we've all been there, where we find a band with such a ludicrous band or album name that we can't help but check out. Please Eat the Fucking Sandwich Bitch is one of those bands, but it can be rare for these bands with ridiculous names to be any good. Is PETFSB one of the better bands of their kind, or are they another mediocre group with a wild name?

For a cybergrind band, a sub-genre of grindcore, PETFSB is quite varied. Mixed in with noisy digitized breakdown-grindcore that sounds like the original Doom soundtrack on steroids, are songs that would actually sound right at home on a Sega Genesis, SNES, or classic MS-DOS game. Among the best examples of this are tracks like 'Get Funkey' and the chillout beat of 'Hoe'. The noisy songs are pretty good too, especially 'OMG DUh' and the crunchy bit-crushed 'HardGrind'. '$iick' may very well be my favorite, which sounds less like grindcore and more like a 16-bit remix of a thrash metal song.

That's about all there is to say, a quite varied album. However, I think this is more for the metalheads that love retro video games as well. Listening to this makes me want to play some Doom II and have this in the background, while someone who isn't into old games like that may not get as much enjoyment out of it. I'd say it's worth a listen, especially if you're into all of those 8-bit versions of metal songs.

Hope you found this review helpful, feel free to comment!
Share this review

Review Comments

Post a public comment below | Send private message to the reviewer
Please login to post a shout
siLLy puPPy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I think that the comment section now contains more words than the review itself! Good job, everyone!
Unitron wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I personally agree, I think there's too many sub-genres already, but I'm one who likes to keep things simple. Maybe it would be better to discuss on the forums though rather than a review ;-)
Vim Fuego wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I'm opposed to any more splintering of genres on principle! Yes, it is different, but do we really need another subgenre?
siLLy puPPy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I just copy pasted it into a search engine or two and got zero results except here. Weeeeiiiiirrrrrd! Personally i think cybergrind is distinct enough from grind to warrant its own sub sub. Let's suggest it and see if anyone else is game
Sheavy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Searching without any space between the words brings up bandcamp, Twitter, etc that's what the problem was.


There's a lot of sub-genres within Grindcore, and it shares a few with other genres. If enough people think that Grindcore should be sub-divided I'd go along.

siLLy puPPy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Well, i was asking Unitron but thanks for the lowdown on GB! However they were easy to find and for some reason i got zero search enging results for this one :o Listening to !!!W!PE0UT!!! right now. I'm diggin' it! Should cybergrind get its own sub here?
Sheavy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I guess I'm the silly one, I thought all of your comment was about gigantic brain >.<

They've got a bandcamp page, we should probably remove the spaces between the words like they have it on the bandcamp page.

https://pleaseeatthefuckingsandwichbitch.bandcamp.com


siLLy puPPy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Unitron, is this an official release? There is nothing on a Google search for it except for MMA.
Sheavy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
Lol, I've known about GB for awhile, found them way back around 2008 or 2009 on myspace.

They're actually on PA as well as here

http://www.progarchives.com/artist.asp?id=6147

and you can find just about everything Gigantic Brain has released on Bandcamp. Some albums are on GB's own Bandcamp page and the rest of the releases are on the Grindcore Karaoke page.

siLLy puPPy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
where did you find this? i'm searching for it and the only search engine results are this site. Sheavy, that Gigantic Brain is pretty cool!
Sheavy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I'll have to give this guys stuff a more proper listen. If variety is your thing I'd recommend checking out Gigantic Brain. Cybergrind with a heavy ambient and Post Metal/Post Rock presence, though later releases really shed the Cybergrind aspects.
Unitron wrote:
more than 2 years ago
No I haven't, sounds interesting. I'll have to check it out, it's probably hated because video games probably aren't kvlt enough.
siLLy puPPy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I do! Have you heard Xexyz? A black metal act that uses 8 bit Nintendo video game sounds as the keyboard parts. It's widely hated but i actually quite like it :)

http://www.metalmusicarchives.com/artist/xexyz

Unitron wrote:
more than 2 years ago
If you like 90's video game soundtracks, you'll probably like this. If not, at least you'll come back with a good laugh at the band name and song titles.
siLLy puPPy wrote:
more than 2 years ago
I'll admit it. I'm a sucker for ridiculous names but if there's no substance i'll never come back. I'll check this one though :)

MMA TOP 5 Metal ALBUMS

Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
METALLICA
Buy this album from our partners
Rust in Peace Thrash Metal
MEGADETH
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
RUSH
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
IRON MAIDEN
Buy this album from our partners
Dirt Alternative Metal
ALICE IN CHAINS
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Scars Metalcore
RETRACE THE LINES
Buy this album from MMA partners
Vagina Witchcraft Sludge Metal
VAGINA WITCHCRAFT
Buy this album from MMA partners
Fracmont Death Metal
MESSIAH
Buy this album from MMA partners
The Lethargy Of Custom Melodic Metalcore
MACHINE GUN MAJESTY
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

Velcra -- The Bong Song
VELCRA
Tupan· 3 days ago
More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions

More...

Latest Metal News

members-submitted

More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us