IN FLAMES — Whoracle — the ultimate metal music online community, from the creators of

IN FLAMES - Whoracle cover
4.07 | 37 ratings | 1 review
Buy this album from MMA partners

Album · 1997


1. Jotun (3:53)
2. Food for the Gods (4:21)
3. Gyroscope (3:26)
4. Dialogue With the Stars (3:00)
5. The Hive (4:03)
6. Jester Script Transfigured (5:46)
7. Morphing Into Primal (3:05)
8. Worlds Within the Margin (5:06)
9. Episode 666 (3:45)
10. Everything Counts (3:17)
11. Whoracle (2:43)

Total Time: 42:31


- Anders Fridén / Vocals
- Jesper Strömblad / Lead Guitar, Keyboards
- Glenn Ljungström / Rhythm Guitar
- Johnan Larsson / Bass
- Björn Gelotte / Drums, Lead Guitar

About this release

Nuclear Blast Records, October 27th, 1997

"Everything Counts" by Martin Lee Gore.
All songs published by Prophecies Publishing, Hamburg, except "Everything Counts" published by Grabbing Hands Music.
Lyrics by Niklas Sundin, synopsis by Anders Friden.

Bonus tracks for Japan:
12. Goliaths Disarm Their Davids (04:56)
13. Acoustic Medley (Instrumental) (02:32)
14. Behind Space (Live)

Bonus track for original Vinyl edition:
6. Re-Cycles (Acoustic Medley - retitled)

Re-release deluxe version has "Clad in Shadows '99" (02:23) and video track for "Jotun" as bonus tracks.

A music video was made for the song "Jotun".

Recorded and produced at Studio Fredman on Spring 1997.
Mastered at The Mastering Room, Gbg.

Thanks to The Angry Scotsman, UMUR, Unitron for the updates


More places to buy metal & IN FLAMES music

  • CDUniverse - Specializing in the sale of domestic and imported music CDs and Imports


Specialists/collaborators reviews

"Whoracle" is the 3rd full-length studio album by Swedish death metal act In Flames. The album was released through Nuclear Blast Records in October 1997. "Whoracle" features the exact same lineup, who recorded the predecessor "The Jester Race (1996)", which considering the lineup shuffles on the early days of the band, is no small feat.

Stylistically "Whoracle" pretty much continues down the same melodic death metal path as the band also played on "The Jester Race (1996)" (still with the occasional ethnic Scandinavian folk melody thrown in). There hasn´t been a radical development of sound but the songwriting is generally a bit more focused or mature if you will. In Flames are a skilled and tight playing unit, so the musicianship is on a high level. Ultra melodic guitar leads and harmony themes, strong acoustic guitar parts, a powerful and organic playing rhythm section, occasional use of keyboards for atmosphere, and Anders Fridén´s high pitched screaming growling and occasional use of clean vocals.

The material on the 11 track, 42:31 minutes long album is consistent in style but still relatively varied which is mostly due to the band including two instrumentals and a cover of "Everything Counts" by Depeche Mode. The latter is a bit of a surprising choice for a cover, but it works great. The rest of the tracks are all high quality melodic death metal. "Whoracle" also features a professional sounding production, which suits the music well, so upon conclusion In Flames have produced a high quality release and a 4 star (80%) rating is deserved.

Members reviews

No IN FLAMES WHORACLE reviews posted by members yet.

Ratings only

  • The T 666
  • LightningRider
  • Rickyntik
  • Pekka
  • Peacock Feather
  • GWLHM76
  • Psydye
  • Tupan
  • Paluvatar
  • Fiyaskoyum
  • MorniumGoatahl
  • Nightfly
  • Necrotica
  • starlessabstract
  • StargazerSlave
  • serenitypaintedeath
  • Beyonder
  • powermetal2000
  • DippoMagoo
  • Unitron
  • Primeval Scum
  • KatiLily
  • jsorigar
  • sepozzsla
  • milosshomi80
  • jose carlos
  • LaineJ
  • SrEstaire
  • HeadsOfTriglav
  • Diogenes
  • life93
  • 666sharon666
  • Anster
  • kalacho
  • spitf1r3
  • Bartje1979

Write/edit review

You must be logged in to write or edit review


Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Paranoid Heavy Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
Buy this album from our partners
Rising Heavy Metal
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Conduit Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Repression Deathcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Evident Demonstration Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Koping Annihilation Grindcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Ethereal Tomb Stoner Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions


Latest Metal News


More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us