MetalMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements >Report bugs here
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Loading speed
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Loading speed

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
Author
Message
Colt View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 6668000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2011 at 5:47am
Yep, it will be a pain for a while as you will also lose your saved passwords and cookies but its worth seeing if it will help.
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2011 at 7:38am
I actually performed this action a couple of weeks ago. Does it make sense to do it again this soon?
Back to Top
Colt View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 6668000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06 Dec 2011 at 8:18am
Doesn't look like thats the problem then.
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 10:29am
I�ve tried Google Chrome just to rule out the browser issue and it turns out it�s just as slow on Google Chrome as it is on Internet Explorer, so definitely not a browser issue. Is it simply because 4 MB down is not enough to use MMA without considerable loading time? The funny thing is that it�s only been like this for the last couple of weeks.
 
...oh and I�ve tested my internet connection speed and there is hole through for all 4 MB.


Edited by UMUR - 08 Dec 2011 at 10:30am
Back to Top
Colt View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 6668000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 10:30am
Thats all I have Jonas, you must have a local issue.

I have no idea what though.

Have you tried speaking to M@x or Phil?
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 10:42am
Phil has replied in the thread so he is aware of the issue. I�m just hoping someone comes up with a golden idea that I can try out.
Back to Top
Colt View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 6668000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 10:43am
How does PA load for you?
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 11:02am
Completely normal.
Back to Top
Colt View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 6668000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 11:14am
Ok, then it must be a script or an Ad that is screwing the speed. Or at least the equivalent.

If it is only MMA that you have the problem it must be site related.

Do you use an Ad blocker or similar?
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 11:34am
How would I find out if I doLOL
Back to Top
Colt View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 6668000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 11:48am
You have to add it to your browser, I'm not certain there is one with IE.

You can use Ad Blocker with Chrome and Firefox.

Give me a few mins to d/l and check.

You already have installed Chrome separately, right?
Back to Top
Colt View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 6668000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 12:05pm
Ok open the Chrome Browser

Go to the spanner in the top right hand corner, open menu and click options.

Goto extensions and click the hyperlink "Get more extensions"

Type Ad Block in the search box and hit enter.

The program should be at the top of the page with a box asking you to "Add to Chrome"

When asked in a separate window, install.

Ignore everything elae and try the site.

Refresh a couple of times to drop the temps and cookies , come out and go back in and see how it performs.

I await with interest! LOL


Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 12:21pm
Thanks Steve I�ll try a little laterThumbs Up
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 12:49pm
Wow MMA looks very different without the adds. Not as confusing. But unfortunately the problem remainsUnhappy even after several refresh actions and close browser/open browser ditto.
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 12:54pm
To get a better idea of why it is so annoying this is how an album page looks for about 25 seconds before anything but what is in the printscreen here shows:
 
damn it how do I get a printscreen to show in this box?


Edited by UMUR - 08 Dec 2011 at 12:54pm
Back to Top
Colt View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin

Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: England
Status: Offline
Points: 6668000
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Colt Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 1:44pm
At the moment, Jonas, I am at a loss.


Back to Top
adg211288 View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Avatar
Black Metal, Prog/AG Teams

Joined: 05 Nov 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Status: Offline
Points: 22026
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote adg211288 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 1:56pm
Originally posted by UMUR UMUR wrote:

 damn it how do I get a printscreen to show in this box?

Save it as an image on your computer (paste it into Paint or something), then use the upload side of the add image button when posting.
Earn Money Online (NOT a scam):
GG2U

Adam's Film Corner on Quora
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 2:03pm
Thanks Adam I�ll try that.
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 2:09pm
Originally posted by UMUR UMUR wrote:

To get a better idea of why it is so annoying this is how an album page looks for about 25 seconds before anything but what is in the printscreen here shows:
This is using IE but it looks the same with Google Chrome
 
 


Edited by UMUR - 08 Dec 2011 at 2:10pm
Back to Top
UMUR View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Avatar
Errors & Omissions Team / Retired Admin

Joined: 25 Mar 2010
Location: Denmark
Status: Offline
Points: 18139
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote UMUR Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 Dec 2011 at 2:18pm
This is how the frontpage looks for about 25 seconds. Note that the yellow star rating hasn�t appeared. Until the yellow star ratings appear on the page I�m also unable to use the search function:
 
 


Edited by UMUR - 08 Dec 2011 at 2:19pm
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  <123>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 10.16
Copyright ©2001-2013 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.458 seconds.