MetalMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Other music related lounges >General Music Discussions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

How do you guys define "speed metal?"

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Groupie
Forum Groupie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote LightningRider Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: How do you guys define "speed metal?"
    Posted: 02 Oct 2021 at 9:50am
New here, big metal fan all my life.  I'm mostly into power and thrash, and I've got some good experience in black metal, but I noticed that speed metal's exact definition changes from place to place.  Megadeth is considered speed on Lastfm, but RYM hardly considers it anymore, for example.  Also, they took speed off the entire Dragonforce catalog.

I'm just wondering how everyone here defines it.  Consider this my official ice-breaker.  And if you'd like to know, my favorite speed album (based on my def and the fact that 5/9 songs meet that def) is Metal Church.
And the Trogdor comes in the NIIIIGHT!
adg211288 View Drop Down
Forum Admin Group
Forum Admin Group
Black Metal, Prog/AG Teams

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote adg211288 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02 Oct 2021 at 12:52pm
Speed metal is a bit of a minefield. 

I was introduced to the concept as it being the precursor of both thrash and power metal. That makes a lot of sense for power metal, since the early German PM bands started out as speed metal bands, but the timelines don't line up to well for thrash metal. Granted though that US speed metal bands have more in common with thrash metal and European speed metal bands with power metal. 

Though US Power metal into the mix and it gets even more complicated. 

The best description for speed metal I've ever seen anywhere is that there are a lot of speed metal songs, a good number of speed metal albums, but not many speed metal bands.