MetalMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Other music related lounges >General Music Discussions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Post Rock

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote ByteBlock Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Post Rock
    Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 8:03am
I am not good at explaining things. So, here is little intro about genre copied from wiki.

Post-rock is a musical genre characterized by the use of instruments commonly associated with rock music, but using rhythms, harmonies, melodies, timbres, and chord progressions not traditionally found in rock. Post-rock musicians typically produce instrumental music.

Bands Recommended:
Red Sparowes
God Is An Astronaut
Tortoise
Mogwai
Caspian
GYBE
If These Trees Could Talk
Pelican
Koala
Explosion In The Sky
Sigur Ros

I will add others later.
Balthamel View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Balthamel Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 8:24am
I have yet to go for the REAL post rock bands

But i have two albums by that then New Wave / Synth rock band Talk Talk which stedaly but drastic move towards Post Rock (they are even loocked upon as THE founder of post rock)

I also have a Post Rock album by Japans vocalist David Sylvian which I have yet to enjoy fully

David Sylvian - Manafon

Edited by Balthamel - 31 Oct 2010 at 8:24am
J-Man View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote J-Man Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 31 Oct 2010 at 8:50am