Forum Home Forum Home >Other music related lounges >General Music Discussions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Jazz

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Pekka Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Jazz
    Posted: 21 Feb 2011 at 2:09pm
While we're all eagerly awaiting the launch of JazzArchives, let's have the next best thing, an MMA jazz thread. Beer A platform for all that jazz except the metal up your ass, share your jazz stories and jazz album recommendations (the word jazz is starting to blur and lose meaning after saying it five times in two sentences). 

Do you like jazz? 

I spent ages actively disliking the traditional jazz sound, but a year or so ago something snapped in my head, and I found myself thoroughly enjoying it. I'm still a total novice at jazz, only really familiar with the giants like Davis and Coltrane, and just now I've started to get to know Mingus. Most of the time I find it extremely hard to tell one composition from another, there are just a few exceptions, but jazz to me is an immensely enjoyable soundscape that rewards really listening. I've noticed that modern fusion is not really my thing, yet, I haven't particularly enjoyed any fusion beyond Miles' 70s albums, Mahavishnu and to a lesser extent Weather Report. But I did catch a show, last summer in Prague, by a fusion group called Petr Zeman Quintet, and they blew me away completely. Hopefully they'll release something at some point. Free jazz is something I'm very interested in at the moment, I love the chaotic free stuff I've heard from Coltrane, Ascension and Interstellar Space that is.

Right now I've got My Favourite Things going Clap
<- Click on this!
The Block View Drop Down
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Honorary Collaborator