MetalMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Metal Music Lounges >Metal Bands, Artists and Genres Appreciation
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Primordial

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Forum Senior Member
Forum Senior Member

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (1) Thanks(1)   Quote ColdReverie Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Primordial
    Posted: 09 Aug 2018 at 2:23am
With no results coming up on the Search function, I thought I'd create a thread about a band I've been coming back to over and over again for the past two years: Ireland's finest, the mighty Primordial.

Primordial originally started out as a black metal band with folk influences, and has in later years started to integrate sounds more reminiscent of doom metal whilst still staying true to their roots. The band is fronted by A. A. Nemtheanga, whose powerful voice contributes to making Primordial's sound very distinctive and unique. Earlier this year, they released their ninth full-length album - Exiles Amongst the Ruins.

Primordial is a band it took me a good while to get into. I first listened to them when they had just released Redemption at the Puritan's Hand and I just didn't like the vocals. I later tried To the Nameless Dead because it was critically acclaimed, but still the vocals just didn't do it for me, and I cast the band aside as something that just wasn't my cup of tea. In all fairness, I believe what played a major role in spoiling this experience for me was having started off with one of Nemtheanga's side projects called Blood Revolt, in which his vocal performance is subpar in contrast to his work with Primordial.