MetalMusicArchives.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home >Site News, Newbies, Help and Improvements >Welcome newbies!
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Hey Everyone

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
MMA Special Collaborator
MMA Special Collaborator
Prog/AG, Death, Alt

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Necrotica Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Hey Everyone
    Posted: 11 Aug 2015 at 2:59am
Hey guys, sorry I didn't post here earlier! I already became a collaborator, but I still want to introduce myself to anyone I haven't interacted with yet.

My name is Brendan Schroer, and I'm a musician, reviewer, songwriter, and poet; I'm also into reading, video gaming, and fitness. Right now, I'm currently on my way to join the Navy as a jazz pianist, so I've been practicing like mad to prepare for my audition LOL I'd also like to work as a session musician and film/video game composer in the future. 

My first taste of metal music (as in, full-on metal and not just metal-related like Rush or Queen) was back when I was about 11 or 12 and I heard Death's masterpiece The Sound of Perseverance for the first time. I was pretty much blown away by the heaviness (although other Death albums are heavier for sure) and technicality of the music and decided that I'd be a metal fan for life. The weird thing is that I started my metal journey with extreme metal and other highly abrasive genres, and then worked my way back to the more traditional and accessible genres many people begin with. Also, I'm a firm believer of equality between each subgenre; to me, alternative metal can be just as metal-oriented as death metal. If the genre has "metal" in its name (or is deathcore I guess, lol), it's metal to me, regardless of any stigma or status it has. Big smile I'm also into plenty of other genres, such as folk, jazz, punk, progressive rock, classical, new age, and more.