RUSH — Sector 3 — the ultimate metal music online community, from the creators of

RUSH - Sector 3 cover
4.36 | 2 ratings | 1 review
Buy this album from MMA partners

Boxset / Compilation · 2011

Filed under Non-Metal


CD 1: Signals
1. Subdivisions (5:34)
2. The Analog Kid (4:48)
3. Chemistry (4:58)
4. Digital Man (6:22)
5. The Weapon (6:24)
6. New World Man (3:43)
7. Losing It (4:53)
8. Countdown (5:49)

Total Time: 42:33

CD 2: Grace Under Pressure
1. Distant Early Warning (4:57)
2. Afterimage (5:05)
3. Red Sector A (5:11)
4. The Enemy Within (4:36)
5. The Body Electric (5:02)
6. Kid Gloves (4:20)
7. Red Lenses (4:44)
8. Between the Wheels (5:44)

Total Time: 39:41

CD 3: Power Windows
1. The Big Money (5:37)
2. Grand Designs (5:06)
3. Manhattan Project (5:07)
4. Marathon (6:09)
5. Territories (6:20)
6. Middletown Dreams (5:15)
7. Emotion Detector (5:11)
8. Mystic Rhythms (5:53)

Total Time: 44:41

CD 4: Hold Your Fire
1. Force Ten (4:32)
2. Time Stand Still (5:08)
3. Open Secrets (5:38)
4. Second Nature (4:36)
5. Prime Mover (5:21)
6. Lock and Key (5:09)
7. Mission (5:17)
8. Turn the Page (4:55)
9. Tai Shan (4:17)
10. High Water (5:33)

Total Time: 50:30

CD 5: A Show of Hands
1. Intro (0:53)
2. The Big Money (5:59)
3. Subdivisions (5:22)
4. Marathon (6:39)
5. Turn the Page (4:41)
6. Manhattan Project (5:18)
7. Mission (5:46)
8. Distant Early Warning (5:15)
9. Mystic Rhythms (5:33)
10. Witch Hunt (3:58)
11. The Rhythm Method (4:38)
12. Force Ten (4:57)
13. Time Stand Still (5:11)
14. Red Sector A (5:18)
15. Closer to the Heart (4:54)

Total Time: 74:30

DVD: Signals
1. Subdivisions (5:34)
2. The Analog Kid (4:48)
3. Chemistry (4:58)
4. Digital Man (6:22)
5. The Weapon (6:24)
6. New World Man (3:43)
7. Losing It (4:53)
8. Countdown (5:49)

Total Time: 42:33


- Geddy Lee / vocals, bass, synthesizers, Taurus pedals
- Alex Lifeson / electric and acoustic guitars, Taurus pedals
- Neil Peart / drums, percussion

- Ben Mink / electric violin on "Losing It" (Signals)
- Andy Richards / additional keyboards (Power Windows and Hold Your Fire)
- The Choir / additional vocals (Power Windows)
- Aimee Mann / additional vocals on Time Stand Still (Hold Your Fire)

About this release

Box set
November 21, 2011

This 5CD+1DVD box set collects together the third of Rush's three Mercury era four-studio-albums-and-one-live-album cycles. All albums are transferred to high resolution 96kHz/24-bit and digitally remastered for optimal quality. In addition, the box set includes an exclusive booklet packed with unpublished photos, original album lyrics and credits, and features the Signals album specially remixed on DVD in high resolution 96kHz/24-bit, 5.1 surround sound and stereo, compatible with both DVD-Audio players and DVD-Video players. Each album is packaged in a replica vinyl mini-jacket of the original album release, with all three Sector box sets forming a Rush CD road case.

Thanks to Pekka for the addition and 666sharon666 for the updates

Buy RUSH - SECTOR 3 music

More places to buy metal & RUSH music

  • CDUniverse - Specializing in the sale of domestic and imported music CDs and Imports

RUSH SECTOR 3 reviews

Specialists/collaborators reviews

The third "Sector" boxed set from Rush delivers fresh new remasters of their 1980s synth-era, taking in the studio albums from Signals to Hold Your Fire and the live album A Show of Hands.

I think there's no question that of the three Sector boxes, Sector 2 was the one which covers the most essential era of Rush, but I'd actually rank Sector 3 above Sector 1. Sector 1 has got 2112, of course, but arguably it was only really on 2112 that Rush started firing on all cylinders (though Fly By Night deserves an honourable mention), and albums like their debut or Caress of Steel showed stark growing pains.

On the other hand, whilst the synth era of the band rather sputtered out, they did at least have a cohesive musical vision all the way through it; the first two albums were very good, and I think Power Windows gets a slightly raw deal, and it was only really Hold Your Fire which wasn't pulling its weight there. Getting all of them, sounding better than they have for ages, plus a live album, in nicely-presented LP replica sleeves? Can't hurt.

Members reviews

No RUSH SECTOR 3 reviews posted by members yet.

Ratings only

  • Nightfly

Write/edit review

You must be logged in to write or edit review


Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
Buy this album from our partners
Paranoid Heavy Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
Buy this album from our partners
Rising Heavy Metal
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

Molten Husk Sludge Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
Omnimalevolent Deathcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Metamorphosis Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Disparity Metalcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Dirt Sludge Metal
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions


Latest Metal News


More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us