BRUCE DICKINSON — The Chemical Wedding — the ultimate metal music online community, from the creators of

BRUCE DICKINSON - The Chemical Wedding cover
4.40 | 33 ratings | 2 reviews
Buy this album from MMA partners

Album · 1998


1. King in Crimson (4:42)
2. Chemical Wedding (4:04)
3. The Tower (4:45)
4. Killing Floor (4:28)
5. Book of Thel (8:11)
6. Gates of Urizen (4:21)
7. Jerusalem (6:42)
8. Trumpets of Jericho (5:55)
9. Machine Men (5:39)
10. The Alchemist (8:26)

Total Time: 57:16

2005 bonus tracks:
11. Return of the King (5:06)
12. Real World (3:59)
13. Confeos (7:35)


- Bruce Dickinson / vocals
- Adrian Smith / guitar
- Roy Z / guitar
- Eddie Casillas / bass
- David Ingraham / drums
- Arthur Brown / voice (tracks 5, 7, 13)
- Greg Schultz / keyboards (track 4)

About this release

Sanctuary Records, 1998. Remastered and repackaged with bonus tracks in 2005.

Thanks to Pekka for the updates


More places to buy metal & BRUCE DICKINSON music

  • CDUniverse - Specializing in the sale of domestic and imported music CDs and Imports


Specialists/collaborators reviews

Perfection really.

After a few shifty moments, Bruce really just looked at his previous albums, flirting in trad metal, avante garde metal, hard rock...this, a more progressive and heavier release really saw him match up to something that was compatible with Maidens back catalogue.

With concepts relating to William Blake poems, occult and some pretty interesting tales.

Musically, the album is flawless, with both Roy Z and Adrian Smith giving amazing performances. Bruce's vocals are also a change from his rhaspy period into the more operatic high tenor tone we all know and love.

The album to me is one of my favourites of all time, If im to be honest. I can listen to this album, and never tire of it.

1. King In Crimson - Amazing start. Kick ass song and great chorus. I also wonder, is their any sexual innuendo in the song. 10/10

2. Chemical Wedding - Beautiful arrangment and melodies. Great slower moment. 10/10

3. The Tower - Great lyrics and amazing melodies. The middle section does kick some serious arse. 10/10

4. Killing Floor - When Bruce screams Satan, you really feel an evil urge in your soul. Great arrangment and kick ass song. 10/10

5. Book Of Thel - The most proggiest song on the album. Great lyrics and some interesting images conjured forth. 10/10

6. Gates Of Urizen - Great melodic chorus and interesting slow moment in a quite metal based album. 10/10

7. Jerusalem - An odd take on the classic English anthem. Its pretty interesting though. 10/10

8. Trumpets Of Jericho - What a thumping riff. Great song, epic and great chorus. 10/10

9. Machine Men - I don't like this song that much, but to be honest, its still pretty good. I think it has some stupid lyrics really. 8/10

10. The Alechmist - Great arrangment and I like the returning theme from the title track. 10/10

CONCLUSION: I think this album deserves alot more recognition. I reccomend it from the bottom of my heart

Members reviews

Ever since the discovery of Iron Maiden, they have been my personal favourite band of all time. However, 1994-1998 marked some of my least favourite years of the band, not only with the departure of guitarist Adrian Smith (which resulted in the delayed listening to No Prayer for the Dying and Fear of the Dark), but also of the iconic voice of the band, Bruce Dickinson. The years without Bruce Dickinson saw the band release the disappointing The X Factor and Virtual XI. Fortunately, the same period of time saw Bruce Dickinson releasing some of his strongest solo materials, in particular The Chemical Wedding.

Unlike the increasing progressive and overtly dark direction that Maiden had been taking over the years, The Chemical Wedding sees Bruce Dickinson presenting some good old heavy metal without all that desperate efforts in sounding different. The album starts off strongly with King in Crimson, and Bruce Dickinson's vocals are immediately recognisable, and unlike the raspy style that he attempts on No Prayer for the Dying and Fear of the Dark, his vocal quality here is markedly smoother and more fluid, certainly sounding better than the strained attempt at sounding aggressive. Songs like Gates of Urizen are perfect for displaying the vocal prowess of Bruce Dickinson, and the reason why he remains one of my favourite vocalists becomes self-explanatory. The presence of fellow Maiden member, guitarist Adrian Smith is also significant, with the guitar solos that are unleashed extremely familiar, giving fans of these dark years of Maiden something that they can finally identify with. Add to that the often duelling guitar solos between Adrian and Roy Z, with each displaying their unique playing styles, makes for one hell of a fun and dynamic listen.

Bruce Dickinson also proves his abilities as a songwriter on the album, with the music sufficiently bringing out the dark feelings with an equally dark album concept that lies beneath the album, and penning music that suits the various emotions of the various songs. For example, the title track Chemical Wedding has a somewhat sad and melancholic melody to it, fitting to the lyrics on the song, while Killing Floor has a respective aggressive sound to it, and it is on this track where Bruce Dickinson attempts a pseudo-growl, adding to the fierceness to the song. There are also epic tracks such as Book of Thel and closing track, The Alchemist, with each running for more than 8 minutes long, and Book of Thel being the personal favourite track, especially with the drum fills in the middle of the track, and the epic feel of the song through the numerous transitions present throughout. The usage of keyboards on the track also helps in building and maintaining that tension in the air. The Alchemist sees a short reprise of the title track Chemical Wedding towards the end, and is the perfect close to this epic journey.

Lyrics-buffs who have found the epic lyrical concepts that Maiden albums often have nothing to worry about here as well, with The Chemical Wedding containing perhaps some of the darkest lyrics that Bruce Dickinson has ever penned, making the reading of the lyrics an outstanding journey in itself. The only minor complaint here are the slight nu-metal moments on Machine Men, that kinda spoil the mood a little. Overall, The Chemical Wedding is an album that more than makes up for the Maiden years and albums without Bruce Dickinson, and is perhaps even superior to most material that Maiden has put out to date.

Originally written for

Ratings only

  • Bosh66
  • TheHeavyMetalCat
  • Vim Fuego
  • Daniel Wallace
  • kalacho
  • Seven Moons
  • CharlieAlfa
  • Anster
  • powermetal2000
  • progshine
  • floflo79
  • Jan
  • bonzomx
  • Colt
  • Rendref
  • anunnaki
  • Lynx33
  • cannon
  • 666sharon666
  • vikt73
  • luanpedi
  • Zargus
  • ollischr
  • Tupan
  • IndianaJones
  • Pablo
  • Jacksonesque
  • Tlön
  • adg211288
  • bratus
  • snowman1980

Write/edit review

You must be logged in to write or edit review


Rating by members, ranked by custom algorithm
Albums with 30 ratings and more
Master of Puppets Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Rust in Peace Thrash Metal
Buy this album from our partners
Moving Pictures Hard Rock
Buy this album from our partners
Powerslave NWoBHM
Buy this album from our partners
Dirt Alternative Metal
Buy this album from our partners

New Metal Artists

New Metal Releases

El viaje astral del cuy Grindcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Agathocles / Mixomatosis / Sacthu Grindcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Agathocles / Nuclear Assao Grindcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
Agathocles / Landfill Grindcore
Buy this album from MMA partners
More new releases

New Metal Online Videos

More videos

New MMA Metal Forum Topics

More in the forums

New Site interactions


Latest Metal News


More in the forums

Social Media

Follow us